## Sanskrit Lesson

by Bhikshuni Heng Hsien

## AMITABHA SUTRA

## खुपरिष्ठायां दिशि ब्रह्मघीषी नाय तथागती नच्चत्रराजी नाय तथागत

EVAM-UPARIȘȚHĂYĂM DIŚI BRAHMAGHOȘO NĂMA TĂTHAGATO NAKȘATRARĂJO NĂMA TATHĂGATA "In the same way, in the direction above there is the Thus Come One named Brahma Sound, the Thus Come One named Constellation King..."

This lesson introduced the *dik* "direction" which is *upariṣṭha* "above" (literally: *upari* "above" + *stha* "standing," with sound change of *stha* to *ṣṭha* after *i*). Sometimes Sanskrit uses *ūrdhvam* for "above" and *adhas* for "below" instead. The first representative *tathāgata* "Thus Come One" is the Buddha *nāma* "named" *brahma* "Brahma/pure" *ghoṣa* "(vocal) sound." There is also the *tathāgata* "Thus Come One" *nama* "named" *nakṣatra* "Constellation" *rājā* "King." Issues #141 an #146 discussed grammar and phrasing.

The neuter noun *nakşatra* "constellation" or "lunar mansion" refers to the ancient system of astronomy used in India. It existed before Shakyamuni Buddha's time and the Buddha and the Buddha's disciples continued to use it in establishing the Buddhist calendar. According to this system, based on India's climate as well, the year falls into three main periods: Cool, Hot, Rainy. The twelve months of the year by the lunar calendar therefore form groups of four months each. There are also six seasons (*rtu*), each of about two months. A month by the lunar calendar is made up of twenty-seven solar days and seven and three quarters hours, so twenty-seven divisions, each corresponding to a *nakşatra*, were made. A twenty-eighth intercalary *nakşatra* must be added periodically because the solar month is slightly longer than the lunar month. The same thing happens with the lunar months because the twelve lunar months make only about 354 days but twelve solar months are about 365 days. So every thirty months an intercalary (*dvitiya* "second") month is added to the year, repeating either the month *āşādha* or the month *śrāvaṇa*. Thus every second or third year contains thirteen months, and is some twenty-nine days longer than other years. Knowing this Indian system helps us to understand references to times of day, months, and seasons in the Tripitaka.

(See chart on the following page).

Friday	e Buddha's Life Saturday		Monday	Tuesday	Wednesday	Thursday
1. Asvint	2. Bharani	3. Krttikā	4. Rohini	5. Mrgasirā	6. Ārdrā	7. Punarvasū
8. Pusyā	9. Áślesä	10.Maghā		12. Uttara	13. Hastā	14. Citrā
5. Svātī	16. Visākhā	17. Anurādhā	guni 18. Jyesthā	phalguni 19. mūlā	20. Pūrvāsādhā	21. Uttarāsādhā
2. Śravanā	23. Dhanisthā	24. Śatabhisā	25. Pūrva- bhādrapadā	26. Uttara- bhādrapadā	27. Revati	28. Abhijit
НОТ	SEASON	RAINY	SEASON	C001	SEASON	Set Shatabe
MARCH-MAY Vasanta	MAY-JULY Grīsma	JULY-SEPT. Varşā		NOVJAN. Hemanta	JANMARCH Sisira	in reading
Citta (Pali) Madhu (anc- ient Skt.) April-May Vaišākha(Skt	Jyaistha(Skt.) Jettha (Pali) Subra (ancient) June-July )Asada (Skt.)	Sāvana (Pali) Nabhas(ancient AugSept. Bhādrapada or	Advina or Advayuja(Skt.) Assayuja(Pali) Isa (ancient) OctNov. Karttika(Skt.) Kattika (Pali) Urja (anc)	Mārgasīrsa(Skt Agrahāyana(Pali Māgasira Sahas(ancient DecJan. Pausa or Taisa	)/āgha (Pali) Tapas (ancient) t) FebMarch	)

-continued next issue